PBA: Talk 'N Text, San Mig Coffee book semis slots in 2014 Governors' Cup

Photo Credit: Sports 5 / Paolo Papa

Top seed Talk N’ Text Tropang Texters and defending champion San Mig Coffee Mixers marched back to the semifinals after winning their quarterfinal match in the 2014 Philippine Basketball Association Governors’ Cup at the Smart Araneta Coliseum Tuesday, June 17, 2014.

The Talk N’ Text defeated Barako Bull Energy Cola, 99-84, to clinch the first Final Four slot.

Niño Canaleta came off the bench exploded with six triples on the way to 25 points, with 14 of them in the last two quarters, while Paul Harris backed him up with 24 markers for the Tropang Texters.

Jayson Castro finished with 16 points, while Ranidel De Ocampo contributed 14 markers.

Allen Durham, the leader in the statistical points for Best Import after elims, led the Barako Bull with 25 points and 17 rebounds but limited to just 4 points by TNT double-team defense in the fourth quarter.

Keith Jensen had a career-high of 17 points for the Energy Cola.

Photo Credit: Sports 5 / Paul Ryan Tan

In the second quarterfinal match, The Grand Slam-seeking San Mig Coffee Mixers rallied from as large as 16 points to eliminate the San Miguel Beermen, 97-90, to advance to the semifinals against Talk ‘N Text for a seat in the Finals.

Reigning conference Best Import Marqus Blakely led the Mixers with 25 points, 18 rebounds, five blocks and two steals.

Justin Melton also stepped up to make up for the absence of PJ Simon due to back spasms. He contributed 16 markers for San Mig Coffee.

Joe Devance finished the game with 14 points while Marc Pingris and Ian Sangalang chipped in eight points apiece.

For the second straight tournament, San Miguel eliminated in the quarterfinals. Import Reggie Williams and last year’s MVP Arwind Santos managed to finish 21 points respectively for SMB.

June Mar Fajardo, the leading candidate for Best Player of the Conference after elims, finished with 16 markers and 15 boards.

With the win for Mixers, the team is just six more wins away from becoming just the fourth team to win all three conferences in a single season.

The Grand Slam teams who achieved the feat were Crispa Redmanizers in 1976 and 1983, San Miguel Beermen in 1989 and Alaska Milmen in 1996.

First Game

TALK ‘N TEXT 99—Canaleta 25, Harris 24, Castro 16, De Ocampo 14, Williams 7, Fonacier 4, Alapag 3, Reyes Ryan 2, Baclao 2, Carey 2, Aban 0, Reyes Jai 0, Espiritu 0.

BARAKO 84—Durham 25, Jensen 17, Miranda 12, Pennisi 11, Fortuna 6, Wilson 5, Miller 4, Marcelo 4, Deutchman 0, Intal 0.

Quarters: 16-17, 41-43, 73-65, 99-84

Second Game

SAN MIG SUPER COFFEE 97—Blakely 25, Melton 16, Devance 14, Maliksi 9, Pingris 8, Sangalang 8, Yap 7, Barroca 6, Mallari 2, Reavis 2, Taha 0.

SAN MIGUEL BEER 90—Williams 21, Santos 21, Fajardo 16, Tubid 8, Lassiter 8, Ross 5, Mercado 4, Maierhofer 3, Kramer 2, Lutz 2, Lanete 0.

Quarters: 14-27, 44-48, 66-70, 97-90

Share this

Next Post »