40th Gawad Urian: List of Nominees

Gawad Urian’s organizer, Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) announced on Tuesday, June 27, the list of the nominees of the much awaited prestigious award giving body in the country, 40th Gawad Urian.

Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino judges is composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema led by its president Rolando Tolentino with members Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente and Lito Zulueta.

Quality is the criteria in choosing the winners and the nominees and Gawad Urian is after the passion of the actors, MPP member Dr. Nicanor Tiongson explained in the press conference earlier at ABS-CBN.

Women of the Weeping River and Paglipay lead this year’s Gawad Urian nominations, with 12 and 11 nominations, respectively.

Natatanging Gawad Urian award will go to the "Star for all Seasons," Vilma Santos, who won total of eight best actress awards from the esteemed body in the past years.

Awards night will be on July 20 on Cinema One (SkyCable ch. 56, Destiny Cable Digital Channel 56, and Destiny Analog Ch. 37) at 9pm.

Here’s the official list of the nominees.

Best Actress
  • Charo Santos (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
  • Laila Ulao (Women of the Weeping River)
  • Jaclyn Jose (Ma’ Rosa)
  • Cherry Pie Picache (Pauwi Na)
  • Ai Ai de las Alas (Area)
  • Elizabeth Oropesa (MRS)
  • Irma Adlawan (ORO)
  • Hasmine Kilip (Pamilya Ordinaryo)
  • Angeli Bayani (Ned’s Project)
  • Nora Aunor (Hinulid)

Best Actor
  • Khalil Ramos (2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten)
  • Tommy Abuel (Dagsin)
  • Bembol Roco (Pauwi Na)
  • Garry Cabalic (Paglipay)
  • Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful)
  • Ronwaldo Martin (Pamilya Ordinaryo)
  • Pepe Smith (Singing in Graveyards)

Best Director
  • Sheron Dayoc (Women of the Weeping River)
  • Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
  • Brillante Mendoza (Ma’ Rosa)
  • Eduardo Roy, Jr. (Pamilya Ordinaryo)
  • Zig Madamba Dulay (Paglipay)
  • Bagane Fiola (Baboy Halas)
  • Paolo Villaluna (Pauwi Na)
  • Avid Liongoren (Saving Sally)
  • Lemuel Lorca (Ned’s Project)

Best Supporting Actor
  • John Lloyd Cruz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
  • Nonie Buencamino (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
  • Taha Daranda (Women of the Weeping River) Christian Bables (Die Beautiful)
  • Jess Mendoza (Hinulid)
  • Julio Diaz (Ma’ Rosa)

Best Supporting Actress
  • Rhed Bustamante (Seklusyon)
  • Barbie Forteza (Tuos)
  • Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans (Women of the Weeping River)
  • Anna Luna (Paglipay)
  • Joan Dela Cruz (Pagligay)
  • Lui Manansala (Ned’s Project)
  • Lotlot de Leon (MRS)
  • Janine Gutierrez (Dagsin)
  • Ma. Zimadar Caranay-Raper (Women of the Weeping River)
  • Meryll Soriano (Pauwi Na)


  • (Ned's Project) Lemuel Lorca & John Paul Bedia
  • (Pauwi Na) Paolo Villaluna & Ellen Ramos
  • (Women of the Weeping River) Sheron Dayoc
  • (Paglipay) Zig Madamba Dulay
  • (Ma Rosa) Troy Espiritu
  • (Patay na si Jesus) Fatrick Tabada
  • (Ang Babaeng Humayo) Lav Diaz
  • (Pamilya Ordinaryo) Eduardo Roy, Jr.


  • (Women of the Weeping River) Rommel Sales
  • (Ang Babaeng Humayo) Lav Diaz
  • (Ma Rosa) Odyssey Flores
  • (Paglipay) Albert Banzon
  • (Pamilya Ordinaryo) Albert Banzon
  • (Baboy Halas) Raphael Meting & Mark Limbaga
  • (Tuos) Mycko David

Production Design

  • (Ma Rosa) Dante Mendoza
  • (Die Beautiful) Angel Diesta
  • (Ned's Project) John Paul Sapitula
  • (Women of the Weeping River) Harley Alcasid
  • (Pamilya Ordinaryo) Harley Alcasid
  • (Paglipay) Aped Santos
  • (Saving Sally) Erik Manalo & Rommel Laquian
  • (Hinulid) Ryan Cuatrona & Celine Belino
  • (Baboy Halas) Joel Geolamen


  • (Women of the Weeping River) Carlo Francisco Manatad
  • (Ma Rosa) Diego Marx Dobles
  • (Pauwi Na) Ellen Ramo & Paolo Villaluna
  • (Ang Babaeng Humayo) Lav Diaz
  • (Pamilya Ordinaryo) Carlo Francisco Manatad
  • (Paglipay) Zig Madamba Dulay
  • (Die Beautiful) Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino

  • (Paglipay) Gian Gianan
  • (Women of the Weeping River) Kit Mendoza
  • (Saving Sally) Pablo Pico
  • (Pauwi Na) Pike Ramirez, Paolo Villaluna & Veena Ramirez
  • (Tuos) Jema Pamintuan

  • (Hinulid) Mark Laccay
  • (Women of the Weeping River) Albert Michael Idioma & Immanuel Verona
  • (Ang Babaeng Humayo) Corinne De San Jose, Mark Locsin & Che Villanueva
  • (Pamilya Ordinaryo) Albert Michael Idioma & Emmanuel Verona
  • (Ma Rosa) Albert Michael Idioma
  • (Paglipay) Andrew Milallos
  • (Baboy Halas) Willie Apa, Jr. & Charlie Daclan

SOURCE: [PhilStar | Rappler]

Share this

Next Post »